The main header menu at the top of the Jobs Designer interface is comprised of the following items enumerated below. Please refer to further explanations under the same number labels.
1. Job Name¶
The name of the Job being created is shown here and can be edited in-place.
The name of the Project container is also displayed in smaller characters directly underneath it, however unlike Jobs it cannot be modified following Project creation.
A Description of the Job is shown and can be edited in-place through the corresponding icon button . The reader is referred to this page for a full explanation of how to do this.
The second button towards the right of the header menu allows the user primarily to add new entities to the Job being created. The following options are available under the corresponding drop-down menu.
A single Workflow can also be selected and added to the Job, for performing computations on all materials selected in the above step. If the user wishes to execute multiple computational tasks sequentially, he/she should consider the possibility of creating a sequence of Subworkflows within the same Workflow instead.
Instructions on how to select Workflows from the account-owned collection and add them to the Job being designed can be found here.
This option is convenient when the Job being created is intended to be run on top of the results obtained from a previous "parent" Job. Some examples where such a scenario is plausible include the re-calculation of a property with slight modifications, or obtaining the same results but with a higher precision. In both cases, the same preliminary calculations performed in the preceding parent job can be re-utilized, thus saving computational time.
The action of selecting a parent job is explained in detail here.
Submit option is only present for the case of Jobs with a "Pre-submission" status, which have been opened in Designer directly from Explorer. Pressing
Submit first saves the Job to the account-owned collection, and then directly submits it for execution.
4. Save Job¶
The Job being currently designed can finally be saved, after all appropriate changes have been made, by clicking the "Save" button .
When multiple materials are selected, by default (unless the workflow is multi-material in nature) a single job will be created per each material. The name of the resulting Job will have the material formula appended to it when more than one material is selected during its design phase.
Once the new Job has been saved, the view is returned to the corresponding Project page. Here, the new Job is now listed as a top entry under Jobs Explorer and has a "Pre-submission" status, indicating its readiness to be submitted for execution.